Tonbridge Federation Governing Body

The governors may be contacted via Hugh Christie School by email to:, who will then advise you on the best person to speak with.

Information about the organisation and structure of the Governing Body can be accessed here.

Governors are asked to declare conflicts of business interest annually. Please click here to view the latest register.

Governors recognise that meeting attendance is a very important part of their job, if you would like to see Governors' attendance record  please click here 

The Governors produce an annual plan for their work - the latest version can be accessed here. 

Governors are also responsible for monitoring different parts of the school and its policies. To see the areas each Governor is responsible for, please click here.

Chair (Co-opted Governor)

Sue Mason (SEND and Safeguarding)

Vice Chairs:

David Hitchcock (Partnership Governor)

Isabel Handyside (Co-opted Governor - Secondary School Improvment

Other Partnership Governors:

Georgina Thomas

Terri Daters

Other Co-opted Governors:

Avril Fanner  (Primary School Improvement)

Malcolm Cole (Finance and Premises and Achievement Outcomes)

Lesley Broom (Pupil Premium)

Elaine Johnson (Pupil behaviour, welfare and safety)

Noa Mitchell (staff to provide experience of other school not represented by the staff Governor)

Local Authority Governor

Peter Brierley  (Leadership, Management and Assessment)

Parent Governors:

Ella Duggan (Hugh Christie parent) 

Rose Simonetti (Long Mead parent)

Staff Governor

Claire Hickmott (Hugh Christie)

Executive Principal Governor 

Jon Barker  (Federation Principal)

In attendance

Mark Fenn  (Head of School, Hugh Christie)

Lizzie Alexander (Head of School, Long Mead)

Sarah Stewart  (Federation Business Manager)

Clerk to the Governors

Julia Souter


List including appointment dates, please click here.