top of page

The Key People

The School Governors

The Governing Body consists of fifteen governors and a number of other associates. The governing body is made up of parents, school staff and community members, who support, challenge and scrutinise the school leadership team. They also agree the school policies, many of which can be found in this booklet.


The Chair of Governors is Lesley Broom and the Vice Chairs are Isabel Handyside and Terri Daters. If you wish to contact the governing body please do so via Julia Souter via email on or by telephone on 01732 353544 Ext. 279.

My Child’s Advisor

Your child will see their Advisor every day. Advisors are responsible for supporting your child at the school and monitoring their readiness, responsibility and respectfulness. They should be your first line of communication if you have any general concerns or questions.


My Child’s Teachers

You will find these listed on their timetable and on the MyEd App. Please contact the subject teachers if you have specific questions or concerns about those lessons.


Our preferred method of contact is via email.

Key Telephone Extensions

Call the main school number (01732 353544) and then dial the extension number when prompted:


288:     Penny Basson (Student Support Assistant)

272:     Cindy O'Hare (Head of Year 7)

286:    Casey Miller (Head of Year 8)

273:     Natalie Nicholson (Head of Year 9)            

239:     Michelle Harding (Head of Year 10) 

248:     Kelly Ala (Head of Year 11 / Lead HOY)  

227:     Laura Allen (Head of Years 12 & 13)    


266:    English Department

231:    Maths Department

263:    Science Department

254:    Art & Photography Department

265:    PE Department

285:    REAL Department

258:    Humanities & Languages Department

256:    Technology & Business Department

270:    Performing Arts Department

244:    Sara Groves (Attendance Manager)

228:    Learning Support Department

240:    Admin & Admissions Department

241:    Finance Department

242:    Nicki Riddle (PA to Executive Principal / HR Manager)

232:    IT Support

275:     Sarah Stewart (Business Manager / Transport) 

279:     Julia Souter (Examinations Manager)

280:    Medical Room

Heads of Year

Every Year Group  has a member of support staff who is trained to support the team of Advisors and work with individual children. They may be called upon to support students with improving achievement, attendance and conduct. Please click on the name of the HOY below to obtain their email address.


The Heads of Year are:


Year 7 - Cindy O’Hare

Year 8 - Casey Miller

Year 9 - Natalie Nicholson

Year 10 - Michelle Harding

Year 11 - Kelly Ala

Sixth Form - Laura Allen

Kelly Ala is the Lead Head of Year.

Heads of House


Each House has a Community Leader and they are:

Angelou - Alison Hawley

Attenborough - Kristie Connor

Coe - Becky Wells

The Senior Leadership Team


Palak Shah

The Headteacher at Hugh Christie with the responsibility for the day-to-day operation of the school.

Aimee Acton

The Senior Deputy Principal with oversight of Safeguarding, Attendance & Behaviour.

Paul Bargery

The Deputy Principal and Special Educational Needs Coordinator (SENCO). He is responsible for children with additional educational needs. He is assisted by Jane Davies as SEND Core Standards Lead and Rosamund Maxwell as ASC Provision Manager.


Justin Sheppard  

The Deputy Principal for Wellbeing and the Sixth Form. He has responsibility for all aspects of pastoral care and student support. He also leads Geography and the REAL Curriculum. 


Heather Swinnerton

The Deputy Principal responsible for the Heads of Year. She also leads English and is responsible for improving Literacy skills across the school.


Sarah Stewart

The Federation Business Manager who has responsibility for the school budget, infrastructure and transport.

bottom of page