In This Section">

Key People

The School Governors

The governing body consists of fifteen governors and a number of other associates. The governing body is made up of parents, school staff and community members, who support, challenge and scrutinise the school leadership team. They also agree the school policies, many of which can be found in this booklet.
The Chair of Governors is Sue Mason and the Vice Chair's are David Hitchcock and Isabel Handyside. If you wish to contact the governing body please do so via the Clerk to the Governing Body, Julia Souter on 01732 353544 Ext. 279 or email

My child’s Advisor

Your child will see their Advisor every day. Advisors are responsible for supporting your child at the school and monitoring their achievement, attendance, progress and behaviour. They should be your first line of communication if you have any general concerns or questions.

My child’s Teachers

You will find these listed on the timetable in your child’s planner and from the Parent Portal. Please contact the subject teachers if you have specific questions or concerns about those lessons.

My child’s Pastoral Head of Year

Every year group from 7 to 11 has a member of support staff who is trained to support the team of Advisors and work with individual children. They may be called upon to support students with improving achievement, attendance and behaviour.
The Pastoral Heads of Year are:
Year 7 - Kelly Midwinter
Year 8 - Cindy Nye
Year 9 - Michelle Harding
Year 10 - Claire Hickmott
Year 11 - Charlie Barker

My child’s Head of House

Each House has a community leader and they are:
Angelou - Alison Hawley
Attenborough - Kristie Connor
Coe - Rebecca Wells

The Senior Leadership Team

Jon Barker is the Executive Principal and has the strategic oversight of Hugh Christie and Long Mead Community Primary School. His responsibilities cover both schools in areas such as Student Leadership, Gifted and Talented provision, Children’s Services, staff appointments, training and development, finance and site issues and community partnerships.
Mark Fenn is Head of School at Hugh Christie and is in charge of the day to day operation of Hugh Christie including oversight of the curriculum, teaching, learning and behaviour.
Palak Shah is the Senior Deputy Principal with overall responsibility for improving teaching, learning, assessment and the curriculum. He is also the Designated Data Protection Officer (DPO). He is assisted by Aimee Acton as Assistant Principal, who is in charge of raising standards across the school.
Paul Bargery is Deputy Principal and the Special Educational Needs Co-ordinator (SENCO). He is responsible for children with additional educational needs. He is assisted by Rosamund Maxwell as Head of the Skills Centre and Jeanette Ingram as the Director of Safeguarding.
Justin Sheppard is Deputy Principal for the Upper School and Sixth Form. He has responsibility for all aspects of pastoral care and student support. He also leads the House System. He is assisted by Graeme Ions as Deputy Head of Upper School, who oversees behaviour and pastoral interventions.
Heather Swinnerton is Deputy Principal for the Lower School. She is also responsible for improving literacy skills across the school. She is assisted by Jane Davies as the Head of the REAL Curriculum.
Pauline Brookman is the Federation Business Manager and has responsibility for the budget, infrastructure and transport.
View Images