School Organisation

The school is organised into year groups, academies and subject departments.
Each year group has dedicated members of staff to oversee the pastoral care and guidance of students. There are a team of Advisors, who give day to day support to their tutor group, a Pastoral Head of Year, who oversees pastoral, behaviour and attendance issues along with the Head of Lower School (Year 7-8) or Head of Upper School (Years 9-11). Students stay with the same Head of Year throughout their time at Hugh Christie.
Students are also placed in academies (or communities, similar to a house system) for community, competition and charity activities. In Years 7 and 8, students are in the REAL Academy and they transfer to either the Empower or Discovery Academies for Years 9 to 11.
REAL stands for Relevant Engaging Active Learning. Students follow a curriculum called REAL where they spend around 40% of their time (depending on their ability) with one teacher/Advisor so they can get to know one adult really well. They study six national curriculum subjects within the REAL curriculum.
At the start of Year 9, students  join the Upper School and are placed in either the Discovery Academy or the Empower Academy.
Sixth Form is for students in Years 12 and 13. Sixth Form students are mentored in Advisory groups and supported by the Head of Sixth Form.
hc from air logo hctc v1